Breaking through to what is alive underneath

Standard

I just received my copy of If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland, a book I found while browsing The Writers Bookshelf at the Gotham Writers Workshop web site (last week I signed up for a 10-week virtual class that starts in mid February!). On the first page of the first chapter, Ms. Ueland talks about breaking through to “what is true and alive underneath”.  I feel like my regular journaling got me started on that, but the writing I did in 2011 and 2012 as I moved through my experience with cancer really helped me get there. The vulnerability of the situation opened me up.

I’ve blogged about some of the poems where I opened up most deeply, such as Strong and The Me I’ve Always Been.  There is something so tender and loving in Do You Know that I’d put in this category as well. I was surprised at how freeing it was to expose the softest sides of myself.

Do You Know
By Vicki L. Flaherty

Do you know
what it meant to me
to have you there in my most vulnerable moments
when I was afraid and uncertain about what I would see?

Do you know
what it meant to me
to hear you tell me I was beautiful
when I sat on the chair with the bandages removed?

Do you know
what it meant to me
to have you tenderly touch me
when I was so fragile and exposed?

Do you know
what it meant to me
for you to see me as pretty
when in front of me were wounds and scars?

Do you know
how truly important
your love was
to bringing me to the other side?

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Mostly My Heart Sings, 2013

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

Leave a Reply

