Contentment here, now

Standard

Pema Get Away

This quote makes me think about what was going on with me right after my mastectomy.

I desperately needed to get back to my fitness routine. For me, being back in my daily running routine would be a clear sign that things were ‘normal’ and that I was alright. I walked, then jogged, and without too much effort ran a half marathon 3 weeks after my surgery. I was quite literally running away from the whole cancer experience. Underneath the move toward health lurked a kind of escape – get me as far from this as possible, PLEASE. I needed to prove to myself that physically I was as good as I was before. And, maybe it was about more than proving something physically…

Pema goes on to suggest, “Instead, we could just relax.” Fortunately for me, some inner wisdom told me that. It was my poetry that tempered the need to run – writing was an equally powerful pull, and it kept me in the real, in the now. Expressing my feelings kept me from running too fast past the opportunity to BE in the now, to GROW, and to CHANGE in a meaningful way. I like to think the poetry got me running in the right direction. One day, I ended up right slap in contentment.

Running
By Vicki L. Flaherty

I begin one step at a time
Always returning
To where I began
Carrying the part of me
Who has grown wise in time

It comes natural now
Ingrained in me
This special way
That I move
Through the world

Longing for something
My feet dance
With the ground
Stepping inside
And outside of me

Always moving
Ever in change
Exploding outside of time
Soaring through space
I am fluid like grace

A sort of healing happens
A kind of light radiates
With each new path I take
I give birth to myself
Another layer revealed

Over and over again
I move to this comfortable place
To the safe spot that I go
When I’ve lost myself
To find who I truly am

Contentment
by Vicki L. Flaherty

 
It seems like a far off destination.
But it arrives —
in the quiet moments along the path.
Who would have guessed I would find
glimmers of it in this adventure?
It starts from the inside-out,
not the outside-in.
My focus shifts,
I see alternative ways of moving.
Events appear as opportunities,
whatever their shape or size.
In this place I am still,
and my heart is open.
Joy flows through me here;
happiness is my guide and leader.
I am solid and grounded like the earth.
Daily distractions are gentle showers —
washing over me, and away.
I am at home
in this place of contentment.

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Mostly My Heart Sings, 2013

 

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

11 responses »

  1. Absolutely profound! Wow! I had chills as I read your post. I love the part about ‘giving birth to yourself with each new path you take’. What a beautiful perspective and picture to share with the world. I’m currently writing about the choices we have with cancer. You inspire me, Vicki. Please keep running and writing. 🙂

  2. Yes, beautiful! Your writing speaks directly to my heart. Thank you for putting your feelings into words. Washing over me and away… You have such a meaningful gift, thanks for sharing it with us!

  3. Pingback: What is already present in our lives | This Abundantly Delicious Life

  4. Pingback: Myriad Ways of Practicing Mindfulness | This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

