Like human fish

Standard
fish

courtesy of wallpaperscraft.com

Today’s post in The Book of Awakening by Mark Nepo spoke to me today; it left me feeling at peace and open to swimming with life today:

“…the world in all its mystery and difficulty cannot be improved upon, only experienced…life in all its complexity and wonder is complete as it is – everchanging and vital, but never perfectible…accepting that the world can do quite fine without us allows us to put down the burden of being corrective heroes and simple concentrate on absorbing the journey of being alive…like human fish we are asked to experience meaning in the life that moves through the gill that is our heart. Ultimately, we are small living things awakened in the stream, not gods who carve our rivers. We cannot eliminate hunger, but we can feed each other. We cannot eliminate loneliness, but we can hold each other. We cannot eliminate pain, but we can live a life of compassion…”

He offers a meditation:

  • Sit quietly and simply let your heart breath without focus.
  • Try not to think and also try not to not think.
  • Exhale your pressures and arrive where you are.
  • Breathe deeply, and accept the jewel and grit of this moment.

 

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

