What every salmon knows

Standard
courtesy of pastoralia.org

courtesy of pastoralia.org

“The salmon offer us a way to face truth without shutting down. They show us how leaning into our experience, though we don’t like the hit, moves us on. Time and again, though we’d rather turn away, it is the impact of being revealed, through our willingness to be vulnerable, that enables us to experience both mystery and grace.”

From The Art of Facing Things in The Book of Awakening by Mark Nepo

He describes how salmon turn their underside – from center to tail – into the powerful current of the water coming at them, how the force hits them squaraely and the impact launches them further up the waterfall. They do this over and over again, moving upstream. By leaning into what they face, they move further along their journey.

I was left reflecting on what has happened to me when I was brave enough to turn my soft belly of vulnerability toward what was coming at me?

Sitting in stillness was one of the key ways I coped with my cancer diagnosis. My vulnerability was putting my feelings on paper, and then sharing them with others – first my husband Jim then my parents and my friends and others on a similar journey and then here completely out in the open.

Each of Mr. Nepo’s daily inspirational readings includes a meditation. I wanted to share the one that goes the reading:

  • Sit quietly and meditate on the last time you  opened yourself to the life coming at you.
  • In recalling this, try to focus on three things:
    1. the way that opening yourself caused you to unfold
    2. the way that being hit squarely change our life position
    3. where leaping like a salmon landed you
  • Breath steadily, and invite the lessons of opening, being changed, and landing into your heart.
  • Breathe slowly, and realize that you are in this process now.
  • Relax and turn the belly of your heart toward the day.
About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

