crisis after crisis throws us into each other

Standard

This phrase by Mark Nepo in The Book of Awakening called out to me this morning:

“…crisis after crisis throws us into each other.”

It got me thinking about all the close encounters I have with others, whether physically or figuratively – especially times where there’s tension – when I’m uncomfortable or afraid. That got me exploring how I respond when thrown into someone else during crisis, considering my default expectation and go-to story when things get messy. What if I considered each little and big crisis an invitation – an invitation to wake up, to tune in, to recalibrate and connect with what really matters in my life?

( You might be interested in another of my posts inspired by Mark Nepo and The Book of Awakening: https://abundelic.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/the-need-to-be-porous-and-real/ )

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

7 responses »

  1. Yes Vicki. Agree. Reminds me of:

    It takes a kind of outrageous courage— recklessness even, I might have said once— to revel in the pattern of that much definite chaos. I had been raised in this way, and I had loved much of my early life, and of course I loved my family, but at some point I had lost the mettle and the imagination to surrender to the promise of perpetual insecurity. Instead I chose to believe in the possibility of a predictable, chartable future, and I had picked a life that I imagined would have certainties, safety nets, and assurances. What I did not know then is that the assurances I needed couldn’t be had. I did not know that for the things that unhorse you, for the things that wreck you, for the things that toy with your internal tide— against those things, there is no conventional guard. “The problem with most people,” Dad said once, not necessarily implying that I counted as most people, but not discounting the possibility either, “is that they want to be alive for as long as possible without having any idea whatsoever how to live.”

    ~ Alexandra Fuller, Leaving Before the Rains Come

  2. That’s a great post, Vicki, and it is a “cousin” to what you encouraged me to do yesterday in the face of the obstacles (real or imagined) I faced. I like David’s post as well – all inviting us to live MINDFULLY. 🙂

  3. Great post Vicki, “An invitation to wake up, to tune in, to recalibrate and connect” this is so true and I love Mark Nepo, his writing inspires me. Also David’ quote on Alexandra Fuller is great too.

Leave a Reply

