Through You I See

Standard

mirror

Today I came across this poem that I wrote about 7 years ago about my experience in Radical Leadership. I can still remember that special place that had been created for us to explore and discover, and how each activity awakened me even more. At the beginning of the class we are asked to set an intention for what we want from our experience – when it was my turn, I blurted out ‘Find my joy”. I didn’t even know I had lost it. I did find it and have been leaning toward it ever since.

I am grateful for the people in my life who continue to hold up the mirror for me.

Through You I See

Vicki L. Flaherty, 2007

 

We’ve retreated to a safe place,

encircled together in a quiet room.

We take the risk of sharing ourselves,

experimenting with our vulnerability. 

 

Asked to choose just two things

that I see for you:

areas of tremendous strength, and

places of potential growth. 

I look around the circle

and here’s what I see:

 

You inspire others with your authenticity.

You courageously let your light shine through.

You exude warmth and love that touches others.

You seek meaning and inspiration in your work.

You grow through your connections with others.

Your dreams need to be nurtured if they are to come true.

You will be blessed when you share from your heart.

You will be greatly rewarded when you slow down and reflect.

You will enrich your life by stepping out of your comfort zone.  

 

I speak the truth that I see for you.

Only to discover that in really seeing you,

I discover what’s true for me.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

7 responses »

  1. ah Vicki!!!! when the student is ready the teacher will arrive. The whole thing is excellent (and so YOU) but the line that got me is: You will be greatly rewarded when you slow down and reflect.
    My lord, i needed to hear that. Thank you my friend!!!!

  2. Pingback: Speaking Our Truth | Leading With Intention

Leave a Reply

