Patting My Heart for Diane

Standard
Geraniums on Corsica

Geraniums on Corsica

Lately when I have overwhelming feelings of love that I cannot seem to express, I find myself breathing in – really taking in the love I feel and moving it through my being – and breathing out – sending my love on to the person who has inspired my feelings. And, then, patting my heart twice, and feeling the magic of our hearts and souls connecting. (Thanks to my friend Yvonne over at Misifusa’s for sharing this amazingly comforting action with me: The Power of Patting Your Heart).

On Friday I learned that the breast cancer of one of my survivor friends, Diane, has spread to her lungs, chest wall, and hip bones. I can’t stop thinking of her. When I’m feeling that connection powerful inside of me, I pat my heart, hoping I’m sending along positive energy and light to my friend. Today’s post is dedicated to Diane.

Diane, wishing you Peace and reblogging this poem for you.

Finding Peace
By Vicki L. Flaherty

Notice your breath…
Tune into your breathing.
Feel the life force moving through you, nourishing your spirit.
Sense the air in constant movement, an ever-available offering of strength.

Close your eyes…
Let them feel tired and heavy.
Rest in the darkness and connect with the spaciousness.
See the colors and textures of calm dance before you.

Move to a comfortable position…
Feel the earth supporting you and find your center.
Remove the armor that you put on to protect you.
Let your limbs float softly like clouds in the sky.

Relax your body…
Gently caress your stress and invite the tight spots to soften.
Feel the sensations as the tension melts away.
Experience the lightness as it pours over your every cell.

Cleanse your mind…
Let go of each thought as it arises.
Let the fear float freely up and away.
Welcome grace, hope and joy to fill the open space.

Hear the silence…
Listen for it just below the noise.
Feel the quiet as it holds you tenderly in its arms.
Welcome in the abundant peace that is here for you.

Tune into the energy around you…
The love inside you engages in a sacred dance.
Shine the light that emanates from you out into the world.
Your beautiful presence shimmers brilliantly in the stillness.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

9 responses »

  1. Oh Vicki, I’m patting my heart for you and for Diane. I will keep her in my prayers and send her healing hugs (just like the ones I always send to you!). I’m honored that you pat your heart…I think it’s just a special way to connect soul to soul, heart to heart. Big hugs to you xo

  2. Ah Vicki – I agree with the Presents of Presence… patting, and admiring – you are so good at sharing feelings that the rest of us hardly know we’re experiencing. Thank you. Tweeted it too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Transforming | Mostly My Heart Sings

  4. Pingback: this is my brave | Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

