My Dad’s Heart

Standard
My Dad teaching me to play golf a few years ago

My Dad teaching me to play golf a few years ago

This morning it’s a delightful summer day in Iowa – breezy, low humidity, blue skies, temps in the low 70s. Perfect for a run. As I was going along, listening to the music on my audio player, a song by Catie Curtis came on, and it made me think of my Dad. He’s helping someone get back on their feet right now so “My Dad’s Yard” really resonated.

If you need somethin’ when times are hard, you can probably find it in my Dad’s yard. 

If you need hope and your coming apart, you can surly find it in my Dad’s heart.

He can see the beauty beneath the dust and grime.

He can see potential where the rest of us are blind.

He will polish the gray until it shines clear blue.

And, if you know my Dad, he won’t up on you. 

~From Catie Curtis, My Dad’s Yard

P.S. If you know my Dad,you know he doesn’t have a yard or barn full of stuff you that might help you (he’s a retired Navy man living in an RV – you just don’t collect stuff with that!). Instead, he has a life full of rich and amazing experiences that enable him to give you guidance, wisdom, and love shaped just for you.

I love you, Dad, for all you’ve done for me and so many others to bring out the very best in us. Thank you.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

10 responses »

  1. Pingback: Keep Your Heart Young | This Abundantly Delicious Life

  2. Beautiful, Vicki. Thanks for sharing.
    Just wanted to let you know as well that we have just launched our new online cancer survivorship program: http://www.cancerplan4life.com. We would really appreciate it if you could make your readers aware of our program, and encourage them to sign up for our newsletter and free three day trial. Our goal is to empower cancer survivors to take control of their health and to give them the tools they need to lower their risk of a cancer recurrence. Thanks!
    Flo (www.perksofcancer.com) and Susan (www.sisterearthorganics.com)

Leave a Reply

