A place to be free

Standard

Carol over at Radiating Blossom – Flowers and Words  inspired today’s post  with We are all longing. The quote she shared (below) made me realize how cancer led me to find nd and make communities that give me strength and find and create places where I come home just as I am. I think of my family, my girlfriends, my survivor yoga group…I sit in gratitude that I have felt like I’ve come home so many times. That I have a circles that heal, where I am free.

“We are all longing to go home to some place we have never been — a place half-remembered and half-envisioned we can only catch glimpses of from time to time.  Community.  Somewhere, there are people to whom we can speak with passion without having the words catch in our throats.  Somewhere a circle of hands will open to receive us, eyes will light up as we enter, voices will celebrate with us whenever we come into our own power.  Community means strength that joins our strength to do the work that needs to be done.  Arms to hold us when we falter.  A circle of healing.  A circle of friends.  Someplace where we can be free.” ~ Starhawk

 

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

7 responses »

  1. I like that home can be somewhere we were not born, not where our family is, not even where our heart it, but where we can become who we were born to be, and that the people in that community embrace you and say, “Welcome home.” Thanks Vicki – very lovely – as always.

  2. lovely sentiment. I miss you all so much, and traveling takes me away. Hopefully, i will see you Monday night, yoga survivor sister. Kathy

    • Oh, I wish I were going to be at yoga group tonight…turns out my work has me in NY the next 3 work weeks…so I’ll practice with you on Mondays from afar (in my hotel room) and take in the healing energy and light of Thursdays with a lunch time pause. Miss you all, too!

Leave a Reply

