Another perspective on Sanctuary

Standard

MSindance

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our sometimes yoga instructor who became a fellow survivor yoga participant earlier this year returned to our University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics yoga sanctuary to practice with us on May 19th. Unfortunately, I was away on business and missed the opportunity to see her.

A few days prior she had performed a solo dance in the University’s Dance Dept. Senior Concert. Her inspiration for choreography was the UIHC yoga group and the piece was titled “Sanctuary.”  In a gesture of gratitude for the support our group provided during her cancer diagnosis and treatment, she performed the routine again for our group. To my delight, our yoga instructor captured it on video.

Click on the link to watch Michelle’s Interpretive Dance, entitled Sanctuary.

When I asked Michelle if I could share the video on my blog she  indicated that the poem that I wrote for her a few months ago (see Sisters of Light Radiating Light) was the “skeleton” for many parts of the dance. She said she would memorize a phrase and then move to the words in her head. Other parts of the dance represent individual women of the group. Putting the dance together was healing for her. What a very special thank you gift.

You are an amazing inspiration, Michelle. Your art is moving and special. THANK YOU!

Learn more about this amazing and talented young woman by watching this University of Iowa youtube  video about Michelle and her biology and dance practice.

 

 

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

5 responses »

  1. Such a lovely way to honor Michelle. Thank you, VIcki, for sharing. We have been so honored in the love and energy that we share through the Sanctuary of our yoga practice and beyond.

Leave a Reply

