Healing Light

Standard

healing light

Yesterday I learned that one of my breast cancer survivor friends was diagnosed with colon cancer. I am so glad she chose to share this news with our yoga group before our practice.  Our sanctuary filled with healing light. We offered our hearts to our friend, and she received.

Her diagnosis is fresh, having had her colonoscopy a week ago yesterday. She’ll be having surgery this coming Wednesday. The good news is they found the cancer early enough that they can remove the cancerous section – no colostomy.

We all dedicated our practice to her. This poem is an attempt to capture the beautiful moment that Theresa, our yoga instructor, helped us create with her guided healing imagery.

We Are Light
By Vicki L. Flaherty

We are light
Pure and healing light
Here to hold you
To give you strength
To offer our love for you

We press our palms together
Rest the edges of our bonded thumbs against our hearts
Our fingers spread like rays of golden sunshine
Releasing healing power from deep within, out into the room
For you

Our energy floats gracefully to the center 
Each of our spirits moving toward the other
Melding into a single source of powerful light 
Encircling you in radiant illuminating light

Take our pure and healing light
Let it hold you
Let it give you strength
Accept our love

I’ve been transported to that place of vulnerability that comes with such a diagnosis, that place where reaching for hope is strength, where the ability to trust is a gift, where the simplest act of love brings incredible contentment.   I’m reminded of what’s important in life – my family, my friends, my health, bringing joy into the world, filling space with beauty and gratitude, embracing all the possibilities that open in front of me.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: A new poem for one of us – Healing Light | Bosom Buddies of Johnson County

    • It’s been almost 3 years since my journey with cancer started, yet all those feeling associated with a cancer diagnosis come flooding back so very easily. Like you, the emotions well up from that vulnerable place deep inside.

  2. Ah Vicki, as always, you bring a gift to the “bad news table”. Keeping you and your friend surrounded by that healing light, which is actually sourced from a mirror, reflecting back what you give. Filled with gratitude, admiration, and love. God bless you all…

      • In Florida at Innovate my dear through next Fri… 🙂 Will be in touch though… and I cant help responding when you share a piece of your heart!! It’s too wonderful NOT to!

  3. Thank you, Vicki, for sharing your poetic capture of the light and energy generated by our caring and supportive practice Thursday. Such experiences lend such a positive focus to the journey we share.

  4. Pingback: Yoga Poetry by Vicki Flaherty | Holden Cancer Center Gentle Yoga Support Group

Leave a Reply

