A place for my heart to hang out

Standard

003

 

Thanks to my friends Demet, Idil and Lati for providing a sanctuary today – I needed a place where my heart could hang out, where my vulnerability would be greeted with a hug. I treasure your friendship and how we open up and share from our deepest being.

Thank you, Lati, for your impromptu passing along of this beautiful bracelet with tri-colored hearts – it’s symbolic of what I experienced being with you all today – hearts lined up side-by-side creates something truly beautiful. I’m sharing, too, the Rumi poem we discussed – a beautiful gift to help open to personal challenges.

THE GUEST HOUSE

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.

Be grateful for whatever comes.
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

— Jelaluddin Rumi (translation by Coleman Barks)

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

3 responses »

  1. I love the hearts, love the poem, love what you create in your world!!! The visual of meeting malice at the door, laughing at it, is quite a new idea for me… This is the hard stuff – getting a glimpse of what’s possible but not see how to do it myself – now, tomorrow, next year. But at least I got the glimpse of what is possible!

  2. Pingback: Vulnerable and strong | Leading With Intention

Leave a Reply

