Sisters of Hope Radiating Light

Standard

circle of light

 

Today my heart is holding Michelle, the beautiful young woman whose spirit has graced our yoga group with her radiant light, occasionally leading us in our Monday evening practice. Diagnosed before the holidays with thyroid cancer, she is having surgery today, perhaps at this very moment. This poem came flowing this morning as I sent her intentions for healing and health.

Sisters of Hope Radiating Light
By Vicki L. Flaherty

Today she is one of us.
She glows here on the other side of the room.
The wise one who usually leads from the front.

She is resilient, rooted and radiant –
youthful and vibrantly alive.
Her every movement a graceful declaration of life.

We are sisters of hope.
We form a circle around her.
Intentions of every color sit side-by-side,
as we hold her within the deepest part of our being.
Each posture we offer as a gift of strength.

Together we bathe in the calming waters of our sanctuary.
Like flowers leaning into the wind, we move in unison –
our love woven into every breath in,
peace permeating through every muscle.
Each breath we breathe together
And the hope that fills our hearts
create a powerful healing energy
radiating light.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

5 responses »

  1. Absolutely beautiful, VIcki. We are so fortunate to have you share your gifts of wonderfully enlightened insight. Michelle is indeed a beautiful and strong young woman with a resilient and caring spirit—a valued member of our sanctuary and sisterhood.

  2. Such love and beauty … I feel so blessed … something touches me when I’m in the sanctuary …and when I take myself back there. Holding MIchelle now, 12 hours later, trusting her surgery went well and she is recovering and healing well.

  3. Pingback: Another perspective on Sanctuary | Mostly My Heart Sings

  4. Pingback: Yoga Poetry by Vicki Flaherty | Holden Cancer Center Gentle Yoga Support Group

Leave a Reply

