To the mountaintop

Standard
photo taken en route to Capadocia Turkey

photo taken en route to Capadocia Turkey

Maybe it’s the change of seasons, maybe there is something deeper going on…I’m not sure. I have the sense that I am back on a path where things are not very clear. Maybe it’s just a short detour off this delicious road that I found where I see the mountaintop. Maybe I’ve found a mountaintop and I’m on the path to another one. There is certainly lots going on in my life that might be making it challenging to see clearly the way ahead, that might have lured me off course, or even obscured the view of the mountain looming ahead.

I found myself setting an intention for clarity during my yoga practice last night.  I trust it will come. Not by sheer magic…but because I am asking for help, reaching out to others, and I am slowing down and being alert to signs and signals that can point me in the right direction.

I found my poem, Climbing to the Mountaintop, really resonated for me this morning. This poem was written two years ago, almost to the day, 9/21/11. Even before my mastectomy I could see that cancer was taking me on a very powerful journey. Today I feel work inviting me to stretch and grow in powerful ways (I started a new job at IBM in Leadership Development yesterday).

Climbing to the Mountaintop
By Vicki L. Flaherty

I’m on a journey to a mountaintop.
I can’t see the peak, through the clouds,
but the path looms ahead.

I move deliberately forward —
one step at a time.
A detour here or there,
but that’s not the way.
I find it lonely there,
afraid and lost off course.

I turn back to the main road,
where there are people, always people
to hold my hand and guide me
and to nourish my body and soul.
They give me strength,
encouraging me along when it is hard,
when so many things obscure the view.

If I slow down and look around
I find I can see the way ahead,
from a place of calm.
There are signs —
sometimes such very subtle signs.
When I feel them or see them
or hear them or touch them,
I relax and breathe,
opening to the magic and mystery.

I will get to the top of that mountain,
and it will be a glorious day.
With clarity, I will see the valley below
and the path I took to the summit.
I will have new wisdom —
founded on experience walking the path.
And from this magnifi cent place
of incredible beauty and light,
I will begin to see another path
from which to begin moving
to the next mountaintop.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

4 responses »

    • Thanks, David. I’m really excited about it – and will be running as soon as I can let go of the responsibilities of my old job (new person comes on board 10/1) – it’s like the start of a marathon on a chilly morning all bundled up with sweatshirt and gloves at the start…I know soon I’ll be peeling that stuff off as I warm up and get into the run!

Leave a Reply

