The upward spiral

Standard
courtesy of myuniversitymoney.com

courtesy of myuniversitymoney.com

The other day someone shared this article with me on How positive emotions improve our health. A study concluded that “Recurrent momentary experiences of positive emotions appear to serve as nutrients for the human body,” they write, “increasing feelings of social belonging and giving a needed boost to parasympathetic health, which in turn opens people up to more rewarding positive emotional and social experiences.” It got me thinking about my own healing process and how connected I felt during my cancer diagnosis and treatment. I know that my deep connection with others was a big part of my healing and moving forward in a positive way.

The authors of the study describe the process of an “upward spiral,” whereby positive emotions bring better health—and good health generates more positive emotions. And, they connect these positive emotions with having a sense of connection to others. I’m convinced that poetry was the seed of my upward spiral. By writing I was able to experience my fear, doubt and other negative emotions, and move to the other side of them – to a perspective that was positive and health-full. It was from this place that I found and experienced a powerful sense of connection with others.

So today I thought I would share a poem I wrote about my experience of writing poetry…

Poetry
By Vicki L. Flaherty

Ideas flow
Like water
From a fountain
Expression of
My deepest feelings
As real and wet
As a rainy day

My thoughts
Move like a river
As my pen glides
Across the paper
Some unknown power
Creates shape
With my thoughts

Words dance
Catching my memories
Holding on
Or letting go
I don’t know

Meaning takes shape
And there is catharsis
With my emotions
Captured on paper

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Joy radiates | This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

