I can’t seem to let go of her

Standard

heartssidebyside

I can’t seem to let go of her.

I keep thinking of the sweet young woman I met Thursday who just discovered she has aggressive, triple negative breast cancer (see Healing Waters).

Just days ago she was a complete stranger to me. Now I feel a powerful connection to her. I barely know her. And, I feel I know so much about her.  I recognize her fear. I feel her vulnerability. I see her strength.

I don’t really know how I can best support her along her journey. My sense is to just be there – be here, where I am now, emotionally connected, energetically available – for her…to listen to her, to hold her, even if from afar. I hope she knows I am here. I hope she will call out when she is lonely or afraid or just wants someone to sit beside her.

Sitting Peacefully Next to You

By Vicki L. Flaherty 

Is it possible that when I hugged you I took away some of your pain?

By holding my body up close next to yours, was I filling my bucket with your fears?

Oh, I could feel the weight of your worries deep down to the bottom.

 

Is it possible that when I thought about you this morning you felt my touch?

As I held my loving intentions for you, did you sense me there beside you?

My heart sits peacefully next you, ready to hold your hand.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

6 responses »

  1. Vicki, your wonderful post reminds me of a quote by Henri Nouwen:

    “When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives mean the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand. The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in an hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing, not curing, not healing and face with us the reality of our powerlessness, that is a friend who cares.”

  2. Pingback: touched.changed.connected. | Mostly My Heart Sings

  3. Pingback: Where the clouds end | Mostly My Heart Sings

  4. Pingback: Soul touching | Mostly My Heart Sings

  5. Pingback: Healing Energy | Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

