Gentle Yoga Soothes the Soul

Standard

gentleyoga

I’m grateful to be headed back to my ‘bosom buddies’ yoga today. I missed it last week when I was out of town. I recently was asked to share why I attend the UIHC gentle yoga class for cancer survivors (as part of an initiative to ensure funding is available to continue the program). I thought I would share my answers as a way to reconnect with the importance of the yoga group in my life.

Why do I attend Gentle Yoga? Cancer touches you to your very core. Your heart and soul are compelled to join the journey with your body and mind. UIHC yoga provides a place to go where your spirit sustains you. There is a connection among us survivors in this place of grace that is filled with strength.

How does yoga practice make a difference in my life? UIHC yoga provides me with a weekly sanctuary…to be with other women who have walked my path is of great comfort. Our practice together offers me a place where I am comforted, guided, and supported. Our weekly yoga practice is the most important gift I give myself each week. I don’t have any sisters, but UIHC has given me sweet people to guide me along my journey.

What would you say about the group to someone who has cancer and has never practiced yoga? If you are looking for a place that feeds your soul at a time of great confusion and fear, UIHC is the place you want to be. Your level of physical ability is irrelevant here. It’s your willingness to let your light shine and dance your own graceful dance that creates a powerful, healing experience. I’ve come just to be in the room with this group, to breath and reach into my soul for the strength that I hold deep within me. I can’t imagine my cancer journey without the beautiful, amazing women I have met.

I’ve written poems about this beautiful place I gather with kindred spirits previously,in my post Breathing In…Breathing Out.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

4 responses »

  1. LOve it – times of fear and confusion appear in many circumstances, don’t they, my dear friend? 🙂 And you always have something helpful to guide us – so very grateful.

  2. Pingback: Sanctuary | Mostly My Heart Sings

  3. Pingback: Creating life with yoga | Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

