Working through anger

Standard

smoldering smoke

I was reminded of this poem today as I reflected on the duality of life over at This Abundantly Delicious Life in my post AND.  I wrote the poem about a year ago. I was working through my anger – anger that was still there almost a year after my diagnosis, hidden away yet coaxed out into the open with the help of life Coach Christina. It was important work since I’ve spent my life moving past my anger or hiding it from myself and others. Often the result was that I’d bottle it up and it would burst forth when I (and usually someone else) least expected it. The writing was a breakthrough in acknowledging, even honoring, my anger – of getting to know it, if not befriending it.

The Struggle
By Vicki L. Flaherty

feeling the walls
surrounded in darkness
in the cocoon
no light
only tiny fragments
of hope linger
in the air
like smoke
from a fire smoldering
into the unknown
tension thick
like mud unsure
what’s in here
even more uncertain
what’s out there
fear filling the air
wanting desperately out
struggling against the edges
the barriers
holding things in
spinning circles
dizziness pushing ‘round
falling to get up
only to sit still
in the gray silence

© Vicki Flaherty, 2012

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

7 responses »

  1. I could use a little help with anger myself. Lovely work, Vicki. 🙂 Thank you for your continual patience and support. Maureen

  2. Pingback: Patting pockets | This Abundantly Delicious Life

  3. Pingback: Nailed to the present moment | Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

