Training in the Universe

Standard

003

I’m not sure why it is coming to me today. Perhaps because last night I had the opportunity to join a group of breast cancer survivors for dinner. Eight of us gathered at Share and did just that – we shared our stories, our lives, ourselves. I feel so fortunate to live in Iowa City where we have great medical care and where it’s possible to build a strong support system. When Jedn and I rode home together, we talked about how we would not wish cancer on ourselves; however, we feel grateful for so many of the wonderful things it has brought into our lives – like each other and all of the other beautiful women in our circle. Maybe it’s coming to me because there is more that it has brought and I want to remember…

I was reminded of July 6th 2011 – the day that I got the fateful mammogram. Perhaps I recalled that day because a friend of mine had her annual mammogram last week and I spent much of the week holding her in my heart because I know how all those raw emotions come right back up. My relationship with mammograms was forever changed around that fateful day. Here’s what I wrote in my journal:

I had a mammogram at the new facility today and (it took all of 15 minutes – in and out like a flash!), and I decided to come here, to Panera, to pause and reflect on my health and remind myself about what’s important. I saw the X-rays of my breasts. They look healthy and round. I looked at myself in the mirror as I changed out of the ‘superwoman’ cape and felt grateful for my nice breasts and a healthy body…

A friend of mine had shared the little book The Art of Peace by Morihei Ueshiba with me and I decided to finish reading it that morning. The wisdom inside really captivated me and I found myself jotting down quotes and sharing my thoughts about them:

Be grateful for hardship, setbacks and bad people. Failure is the key to success – each mistake teaches us something. What is a hardship, setback, bad person or failure? Isn’t it defined by the perceiver? Does one who lives from a place of abundance see these things? Aren’t these judgements? To me challenges, pauses, opportunities seems more fitting.

Unity of mind and technique is essential. At the instant we confront a foe, all things come into focus.  Facing our challenges opens us to possibility and the path ahead. What’s my foe?

Let attackers come any way they like and then blend with them. Reflect each attack and get firmly behind it. Open to that which you appear to be at war with. Where do I struggle? How might I embrace my struggles and move gracefully with them?

The essence of training is to bring your opponent completely into your sphere. Then you can stand just where you like. Bravely face your fears and they disappear. Shine your light – be in essence – and others will move toward you. I think of my mom saying “HI!” to ‘unfriendly’ people at work despite lackluster – and even no – response, and how eventually they all moved toward her and the possibility she created. I want to have that kind of courage and shine that kind of light.

Little did I know then that the very next day I would receive a phone call asking me to come in for another set of X-rays and that two days later my heart would be pulsing in fear at the news from the radiologist that something looks suspicious. Reflecting back now, it seems that the Universe was preparing me for what was to come. And, I am grateful for that.

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

