What do you do?

Standard

On Sunday I wrote about the loss of my dear friend Barb Kamer in the  A Beautiful White Light post on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. Barb is the first person I’ve known who has died of breast cancer since I was diagnosed with breast cancer back in 2011.

My way of moving through the range of emotions I was feeling took the shape of words. Ideas came to me like soft clouds. I floated with them and the words and ideas began to form something bigger…and a poem took shape. I shared the piece today during our ‘Bosom Buddy’ yoga class, where I met Barb,  and we dedicated our practice to her and all of the other women the group has known who have died of breast cancer. It seems only fitting that a poem came to me for Barb – she encouraged my writing and asked me to write Into The Light.

What do you do?
By Vicki L. Flaherty

What do you do with a loss like this?
Do you nudge it away so the hurt won’t get too close?
Or, do you cling to it as a reminder of her precious life?
Do you hold it close so she won’t seem so far away?
Do you lose it inside you to wander in search of answers?
Do you embrace it to hug her memory?
Do you snuggle it to your heart to keep your soul warm?
Do you sit quietly with it to feel her peaceful spirit?
Do you rest with it trusting that a loving power is at work?
Do you share it to release the heaviness of your pain?
Do you set it gently in your palms inviting it to float away?
Do you wash it in sunshine to awaken her light?
How do you invite her soul to do its work,
to awaken the energy of her love?
How do you to let her light shine through you,
to keep her laughter and beauty alive?
How do you find the meaning in the emptiness?
Just how do you respond to honor her life?

© Vicki Flaherty, 2013

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Heart opens & love flows in | Mostly My Heart Sings

  2. Pingback: Celebrating, remembering and fighting to find a cure | Mostly My Heart Sings

  3. Pingback: Missing you, Barb | Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

