Scratchy idea fragments coming to life

Standard

10/19/11 Journal

From my journal on October 19, 2011  – 22 days post mastectomy:

This morning poetry is pushing its way in and through me. All morning I’ve had flashes, phrases coming into my mind, and I’ve grabbed pen and paper to capture the ideas, the visions, the feelings, the words. I’ve got that sense again that I’m moving toward something. I must capture my experience. I can seize this opportunity to share with others – that we might all connect at an emotional-spiritual level with our hearts and souls – beyond the cancer. (Even that just sparked a new page of scratchy ideas in my  notebook…)

9 days later, on October 28, 2011:

It’s happening again. I’m filling pages of my notebook with ‘idea fragments’ – some flowing into first drafts of poems, some lingering on the page, waiting for their moment to come. It feels good, this creativity, this out pouring, this expression of my innermost experiences. I lose sense of time, my heart is calm, my mind is not taking me outside of now.

[Along this theme, I previously described how writing is a place of heart to me.]

This poem was the scratchy idea on 10/19/11:

I’ll Meet You There
By Vicki L. Flaherty

There is a place
for us to be

Where we can share
from deep within
our hearts

Where our souls
will connect
outside of time

Where we can open
together to
experience magic

Where space dissolves
and mystery
feeds life itself

There is a place
through the cancer
and beyond it

I’ll meet you there.

 

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Mostly My Heart Sings, 2013

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Embracing the evolving artist | This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

