Precious Angels-On-Earth

Standard

In August of 2011, when I was on the phone with my friend Diana Bing, she ended our call by prayer for me.  I felt so loved and supported.  It was like she was holding me.  It’s hard to describe, really.  It was very special.  So when she asked if I wanted to be a part of a Prayer Circle she started in 2006 to support a dear friend of hers going through breast cancer, I said unequivocally yes!   A group of us, including Diana, her friend, some colleagues and my mom, met weekly on Wednesdays at 5pm. Each week we talked about where I was on my journey and what I was needing, and they would pray, usually with one person leading, and others joining in. Prayer Circle is a poem I wrote in honor of the precious angels-on-earth that lifted me up and guided me during the darkest days.  This is how the poem appeared on 9/27/11, when I first wrote it:

Prayer Circle

By Vicki L. Flaherty

A regular gathering in God’s name, this precious prayer circle.

Spirits bonded by faith that where two or more gather in prayer, miracles are possible.

Together friends pray for one in need – a circle unbroken by time, expanded to include me.

Prayer warriors they gather to fight off fear and worry and doubt.

These precious angels-on-earth form – with God’s love – a shield to protect me in difficult times.

Sisters holding my hands, lifting me up in prayer – that I may be guided through the challenges ahead.

Such beautiful voices call upon God’s grace.

These amazing women generous with their hearts, feeding me with their light. 

I am blessed by their gifts of caring and enveloped in love.

 

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Mostly My Heart Sings, 2013

About Vicki Flaherty

I feel most alive when I am creating, whether through my writing and poetry, gardening and photography, or simply living my life each day. Running and yoga enrich my being. Travel opens me to new possibilities and greater awareness. I am happiest when I’m with my husband Jim. I share my gratitude for all the gifts in my life on my This Abundantly Delicious Life blog. I find a special joy in helping people succeed. I’ve done something valuable when I’ve helped a colleague or friend see their brilliance and express their full potential. I have awesome opportunities to do this as an industrial/organizational psychologist through leadership, mentoring, coaching, career and other talent programs. I try to encourage Leading with Intention at my blog of this name. As a breast cancer survivor, I found comfort and hope in writing. Poetry flowed through me like a river of healing during my diagnosis and treatment, which I share on my Mostly My Heart Sings blog, that I might offer encouragement and a place of grace and heart for those seeking comfort and hope along their journey.

Leave a Reply

